What drove us to healthy eating? A large part of that was allergies. Dairy is the number one allergy for us. There is quite a difference though between being lactose intolerant and having a dairy allergy. Milk is composed of four major parts, caseinates, whey, lactose, and lactase. Casein is the main protein that is formed by caseinates interacting with alkali. Whey is another milk protein. It is the runny liquid that appears after the curds have been separated out. Lactose is different. Lactose is the sweet part of the milk, made up of glucose and galactose. And finally lactase. Lactase is the enzyme that splits the lactose into its two parts. As you can see, people who are lactose intolerant can’t have the lactose portion, but that is only a portion of what milk is made up of. Lactose intolerant people can still have milk products that have the lactose. Don’t get me wrong, people who are lactose intolerant do have a serious problem. The milk allergy in our house includes all of the milk. This means no milk, cheese, or anything with dairy in it. We have found one form of dairy that my younger siblings can have though. Organic Old Cheddar Cheese. Why this? The milk in this cheese is unpasteurized. The pasteurization process done to milk changes, and yes ruins, the milk so that they are allergic to it. Thankfully as they grow older, they have started to outgrow a lot of the allergies. But if pasteurization can do that, then is it actually good for those of us who aren’t allergic?