Lazy Chef’s Cake: Low Sugar!

If you want a low sugar cake recipe that is almost guaranteed not to fail, here is one I made. It almost always turns out great. (I can’t remember any time it hasn’t).

Lazy Chef’s Cake

3 cups Flour

2 tsp. Cream of Tartar

1 tsp. Baking Soda

1 tsp. Salt

1 cup Sugar

4 eggs

8 tsp. Vanilla

1/2 cup oil

2 cups water

Mix the dry ingredients together, throw the wet ingredients in (make sure the eggs are well whipped), and mix.  Bake in a greased and floured 9×13 pan at 375F for 30 minutes.

Try adding chocolate chips, cocoa powder, dry fruit/berries, or any thing that might taste good in it.

OR serve afterwards with maple syrup drizzled on top.

Have fun and experiment!

3 thoughts on “Lazy Chef’s Cake: Low Sugar!

  1. Ulla Cinnamon says:

    Hi Janna, love your blog. I learned something tonight about making proper corners on pillows. Fold your pillow material in quarters the size that you want to make. Mark 1/2 point on two sides. Lay quilt ruler in the corner marking 1 inch from each side. Now draw lines to the other dots. Cut along these lines. Unfold the material and you will notice that you have now rounded the corners and you won’t have to worry about pointy corners. I plan on making a couple of pillows in the near future using this method. If this is confusing just give me a ring and I can explain it perhaps better. I am in the process of making place mats as Christmas gifts. I cut the middle piece 12×14″ and bordered it with a 1 3/4 strip sewn on either side and then added another 2 3/4 ” strip on each side again. I used a fusible padding in between the front and back. Finished size is about 13 x 17 3/4. I will sew in the ditch on either side of the narrow strip and machine quilt diagonally across the middle panel. That is where your embroidery machine would have come in handy to do the middle. I used dark burgandy border on the outside, then a narrow black strip with the middle being white with black and grey lines criss crossing the middle piece. Sure wish we were closer so we could craft together. Are you making new projects to sell at Farmer’s market this year? I will send pictures of my finished projects when I get them done. Love from Grandma.

    Date: Wed, 2 Sep 2015 16:20:25 +0000 To: u.cinnamon@hotmail.com

    Like

    • cinnamonbananastitches says:

      Thanks, sounds interesting! I’ll look forward to seeing pictures! I don’t think I’ll be at Farmer’s market this year. I don’t have enough stuff for a table yet. They also changed some things that make it more difficult for me and other smaller vendors to participate.

      Like

Leave a Reply

